first_imgAllan Kateregga (right) hope to get his first cap for the Cranes after he was summoned for the CECAFA team. Courtesy photo.FOOTBALL–With the CECAFA Senior Challenge tournament kicking off this Sunday in Kenya, Cranes head coach Moses Basena has summoned 27 players from which he will pick the team that will represent the country at the East African show piece.The squad has been dominated by league giants KCCA FC and Vipers SC who have 13 players on the list all together.KCCA FC inform midfielder Allan Kateregga who is on loan from AFC Leopards of Kenya will be hoping that he can negotiate through training sessions which start on Wednesday so that he makes his initial bow for the national team.“It is a pleasure to be summoned for national duty. It is always every player’s dream to feature for the national team,” said Kateregga upon receiving the news.Kateregga has been on top form this season and it comes as no surprise that he is in the team.The surprise on the other side is the inclusion of his fellow KCCA FC goalkeeper Benjamin Ochan who has been struggling of late and in the process lost his starting role at the two time league defending champions to Charles Lukwago.The experienced custodian has been in the Cranes set up for a while and that may be the only reason his name appears on the list.League top scorer Hood Kawesa also makes the list after starting this season impressively with seven goals already but young sensetion Shaban muhammad who was summoned to the U20 team that will be playing at the COSAFA U20 championships in Zambia next month misses out.The Squad of 27 that was summonedGoalkeepers:Isma Watenga (Vipers SC), Benjamin Ochan (KCCA FC), Nicholas Sebwato (Onduparaka FC) Ikara Tom (Kirinya Jinja SS).Out Field players:Wadada Nicholas (Vipers SC), Kiyemba Ibrahim (Sc Villa Jogoo), Isaac Muleme (KCCA FC), Aggrey Madoi (Police FC), Juuko Murushid Simba-Tanzania), Timothy Awanyi (KCCA FC), Savio Kabugo (Proline FC), Bernard Muwanga (Sc Villa Jogoo), Tom Masiko (Vipers SC), Mutyaba Muzamiru (KCCA FC), Tadeo Lwanga (Vipers SC), Albert Mugisa (Police FC), Karisa Milton (Vipers SC), Mucureezi Paul (KCCA FC), Allan Kateregga (KCCA FC), Allan Kyambadde (Sc Villa Jogoo), Nelson Senkatuka (Bright Stars FC), Derick Nsibambi (KCCA FC), Hood Kaweesa (Police FC), Batte Seif (Bright Stars FC), Saddam Juma (KCCA FC), Daniel Isiagi (Proline FC), Basse Methodious (Mbarara City FC).Commentslast_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *